Spruce Avenue Community League

The Heart of Edmonton


Spruce Avenue Community League (SACL) was incorporated in 1951 and is a non-profit organization affiliated with the Edmonton Federation of Community Leagues (EFCL). The City of Edmonton recognizes the Community League as the official voice of the residents of Spruce Avenue with regard to civic issues affecting the area. The Spruce Avenue Community encompasses the area North of Kingsway Avenue to 118 Avenue and East of Princess Elizabeth Avenue to 97 Street. The League is managed and operated by a board of volunteers with the goal of promoting and enhancing the quality of life within Spruce Avenue.

League meetings are held at 7pm on the 4th Tuesday of every month.

Membership with the Spruce Avenue Community League gives you:
Access to programs, including sports programs such as soccer, baseball and hockey
A voice on community issues and future planning
Free access to community skating rinks
Access to free swimming and recreational activities offered at the Commonwealth Community Recreation Center at 11000 Stadium Road Saturdays
Reduced rental rates at Spruce Avenue hall
Membership fees: **Free with volunteer hours in the league**
Family -$15.00
Single -$7.00
Senior -$7.00
Membership is valid until August 31, 2018
Hall rental contact: Verna Stainthorp: 780-479-8019

View Our Services Visit Our Gallery


Kate Boorman


Spruce Avenue has been Kate’s home since 2012 and she has been active with SACL for the past six years. She is returning to the board after a year abroad and is excited to see familiar and new faces sharing their energy and innovation with our community.

The Current Board

A Team You Can Rely On


Current Board of Directors
President – Kate Boorman
Vce-President – Joshua Culling
Secretary – Wesley Andreas
Treasurer – Verna Stainthorp
Directors & Standing Committees
Communication Director – Sabino Spagnuolo
Program Director – Ashley Ayume
Volunteer Coordinator – Rebekah Prine
Hall Director – Vacant
History Project – Wesley Andreas
Neighbourhood Development & Civics – Joshua Culling
Neighbourhood Watch – Cindy Leavitt
Memberships – Irene Mortensen
Casino Chair – Angie Klein
Directors-at-Large: Lisa Cave, Cindy Leavitt, Susan Buhler

Alberta Avenue Initiative – Irene Mortensen/Verna Stainthorp
Blatchford Development – Joshua Culling
Rat Creek Press – Verna Stainthorp
Front Yards in Bloom – Elke Siebels, Verna Stainthorp